Return to Headlines

USD 345 School Board Elections

The following school board positions will be up for the General Election on Tuesday, November 7, 2017. 

Position 6C
TERM: 2018-2022
Current: Karl McNorton
Position 4A
TERM: 2018-2022
Current: Cherie Sage
Position 5B
TERM: 2018-2022
Current: Rich Eckert
Newly-elected school board members will take office on the second Monday in January following the election.
The USD 345 Board of Education meets regularly once a month with special meetings as needed. 
Filing Deadline 
Thursday, June 1, 2017

Primary Election 
Tuesday, August 1, 2017
General Election 
Tuesday, November 7, 2017
BOE District Map
In 2015, the Kansas Legislature passed HB 2104, changing local election dates, including the dates for local school board elections. Previously school board general elections were held in the spring of odd-numbered years. The new law requires these elections to be held on the Tuesday following the first Monday in November of odd-numbered years. If necessary, primary elections will be held on the first Tuesday in August of odd numbered years. That means 2017 is an election year for local boards of education in Kansas!  
The Kansas Constitution makes public education a state responsibility while at the same time providing for the operation of public schools by local school boards elected by citizens of the school district. Each school board consists of seven members.*
Close to 2,000 men and women guide Kansas public schools systems, employing more than 70,000 Kansans and serving nearly 500,000 children. Board members receive no pay for their service, only the satisfaction that comes from providing an indispensable public service!
The mission of the public school is to educate each child to their fullest potential. The local school board, an integral part of the American institution of representative government, acts on behalf of the people of each community to translate that education mission into reality. 
*The only exception is Fort Leavenworth USD 207. As a military base school system, the district serves only kindergarten through ninth grade students, and the governing board is composed of three residents of the base appointed by the commanding officer of Fort Leavenworth.